Site map
0The virtual community for English-speaking expats and Russians
  Main page   Make it home    Expat list   Our partners     About the site   FAQ
Please log in:
To register  Forgotten your password?   
  Survival Guide   Calendars
  Phone Directory   Dining Out
  Employment   Going Out
  Real Estate   Children
   June 1
Culture Picks
Culture Reviews
TV Listings
Arts Calendar / October 12 / Clubs
20:00 Epica (Netherlands)
Originally calling themselves Sahara Dust, Holland's Epica formed in early 2003 when After Forever guitarist Mark Jansen decided to break away from the group he had helped found in order to start an operatic metal project all his own. After drafting teenage mezzo-soprano Simone Simons, guitarist Ad Sluijter, keyboardist Coen Janssen, bassist Yves Huts, and drummer Jeroen Simons, Epica entered Wolfsburg, Germany's Gate Studio with a classically trained choir and string section to lay down their ambitious debut, The Phantom Agony. Released by Transmission Records in late 2003, the album spawned a number of singles. The band's early success paved the way for 2005's sophomore LP, Consign to Oblivion, which also charted well in the Netherlands. A move to metal powerhouse Nuclear Blast and the addition of Ariën van Weesenbeek on drums was followed by Epica's first conceptual album, The Divine Conspiracy, released in 2007. It charted across Europe, as did 2009's Design Your Universe, which equaled their best Dutch chart showing at number eight; Design Your Universe also featured a new member, with Isaac Delahaye taking over guitar duties. Epica's fifth studio album, Requiem for the Indifferent, appeared in 2012. It was the first to chart in the U.K. and U.S., after which another lineup shift found Huts giving way to Rob van der Loo on bass. The band celebrated its tenth anniversary in March 2013 with a special show in Eindhoven, titled and later released as Retrospect, which even featured former members Sluijter, Simons, and Huts. Just a year later, the band issued The Quantum Enigma, its first studio album with Rob van der Loo. Epica's next full-length outing, 2016's Holographic Principle, was described by Simons in an interview with Spark TV as their "most ambitious offering to date." A year later, the band issued its first EP, The Solace System, which coincided with a North American trek with Lacuna Coil.
Glavclub Green Concert 
19:00 Lust for Youth (Sweden-Denmark)
One of the finest acts updating synth pop for the 21st century, Lust for Youth began as the raw, icy D.I.Y. project of Swedish electronic musician Hannes Norrvide before adding more members and polishing their music. On early albums such as 2011's Solar Flare, Norrvide combined tormented darkwave, minimal electronics, and gothic beats that bordered on harsh noise, but more melody and structure crept into the project's sound by the time of 2013's Perfect View. Lust for Youth's transformation continued on 2014's breakthrough International and 2019's self-titled album, both of which delivered heartbroken yet danceable songs in the vein of Depeche Mode and New Order. Lust for Youth began in 2009 in Gothenburg, Sweden at a collective venue/practice space where Norrvide's friends were starting a punk band. Lust for Youth's first release as a duo was 2012's dissonant Growing Seeds, which also marked their debut on the U.S. label Sacred Bones. The following year, Lust for Youth released a pair of albums that reflected the project's increasing breadth: On Pomegranate (which was billed as a collaboration with Croatian Armor), Norrvide and Rahbek took an atmospheric approach that bordered on new age, while Perfect View brought their latent synth pop influence to the fore. Lust for Youth pared down to the duo of Norrvide and Fischer for 2019's self-titled album, which found them recommitting themselves to the brighter side of their music.
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Copyright © The Moscow Expat Site, 1999-2020Editor  Sales  Webmaster +7 (495) 722-3802